ASHRAE St. Louis Chapter Annual Technology Awards

Every year ASHRAE asks its members to submit projects for the annual Technology Awards.  These awards recognize both your and your client’s dedication to energy efficient, green design.  Projects eligible for this award can fall into several different categories for both new and existing buildings including:  Commercial Buildings, Institutional Buildings, Healthcare Facilities, Industrial & Process Facilities, Public Assembly, Residential, or Alternative and/or Renewable Energy Uses.  There can be multiple winners in each category!

The submission deadline is March 8th, 2013.  If you have any projects you think may qualify, just follow the instructions on the simple 2 page form and send it to Chad Adler, CTTC Committee Chairman, at  Use the link below to go to the Technology Award page.  From there, you can download the entry form.

The annual Technolgoy Awards are a great way to recognize both your client’s and your own dedication to green design.  Both the engineer of record and the client will receive plaques recognizing them for their dedication to energy efficiency.  The plaques will be awarded at the Spring awards program where the engineer and client will also receive complimentary meals.

If you have any questions or have projects you would like to nominate, please contact Chad Adler at 314.812.4537.

Building Control Strategies – Conference in Chicago

The YEA Illinois Chapter has made their upcoming Building Control Strategy Conference available for St. Louis Chapter members to attend.

More info here:

March 07, 2013
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

University Center of Chicago
525 S. State St.
Chicago, IL 60605
YEA is pleased to present the 2013 Building Control Strategies Conference in Chicago. This all-day seminar is designed to explain the importance, functionality and role of automated controls in the building construction industry.
$100.00 Discounted Member Registration
$125.00 after 05:00 pm February 22

$125.00 Non-Member Registration
$150.00 after 5:00 pm February 22
$500.00 Silver Sponsor (Sponsor name on all official documents and website content)
$1,000.00 Gold Sponsor (Silver level benefits plus a designated booth station at the conference)

2/7 St. Louis Association of Energy Engineers

AEE February 2013 Newsletter

John Burns is the Chapter President of the St. Louis Association of Energy Engineers.

They are sponsoring a meeting 2/7 at Ameren Corp Headquarters from 11:30am-1:00pm.

The topic is International Energy Conservation Code 2012, changes from 2009 and ASHRAE 90.1.


The speaker is:

Darren B. Meyers, P.E., BPI, HVAC-QAP

International Energy Conservation Consultants LLC

Education, Building Diagnostics, Energy-Engineering, Sustainability


Free to designers, builders, contractors, code officials and anyone looking for unbiased advice on the Illinois Energy Efficient Building Act!

Code compliance, IECC, ASHRAE 90.1, EnergySTAR v.3 HVAC, COMcheck, REScheck, REM/Rate, RHVAC or Right-J Calcs?

We have seating for 45 people and are inviting your group if interested.  Our policy is AEE members get preference if we are overbooked.  Seating though, is first come first serve.

Please contact John Burns at if you are interested in attending. A PDH will be available to those who request one at the meeting.

ASHRAE Winter Meeting-Dallas Region VI Dinner

During ASHRAE Winter Meeting Dallas, Region VI will be having a dinner on Sunday, January 27th at 6:30 at Sol Irlande’s Mexican Grill. All ASHRAE members are welcome, so we would like to extend an invitation out to your chapter membership, inviting them to join us. An invitation is available from the link at the bottom of this post.

We are joining the Region V for this dinner to get greater value of the dinner. The Assistant Regional Chair from Region V negotiated a set fee of $35 for the meal (excluding alcohol) to allow it to be cost effective and a great Texas experience.

A deadline date is set for RSVP.  Send an RSVP promptly if you intend to join.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in Dallas, Texas.

Region V 2013 winter Meeting dinner